Book Shelves with Lots of books

You are viewing

THE INVESTIGATION (Signed)

Book cover ofThe Investigation
  • Author: Jung-Myung LEE
  • Publisher: Mantle
  • Published: 2014
  • Description: Hardback, Fine
  • Dust Jacket Condition: Fine
  • Edition: First
  • ISBN-13: 9780230768710
  • Ref: 13091
  • View Terms of Sale & Postage Information

Comments & Further Information

A first UK edition hardback with a full 1 to 10 number sequence indicating a first printing.   Unread.  The dust jacket is complete and still shows the price.

The book is SIGNED and DATED by the author on the title page.

SYNOPSIS:  “Fukuoka Prison, 1944.

Beyond the prison walls the war rages; inside a man is found brutally murdered. Yuichi Watanabe, a young guard with a passion for reading, is ordered to investigate. The victim, Sugiyama – also a guard – was feared and despised throughout the prison and inquiries have barely begun when a powerful inmate confesses. But Watanabe is unconvinced; and as he interrogates both the suspect and Yun Dong-ju, a talented Korean poet, he begins to realise that the fearsome guard was not all he appeared to be…

As Watanabe unravels Sugiyama’s final months, he begins to discover what is really going on inside this dark and violent institution, which few inmates survive: a man who will stop at nothing to dig his way to freedom; a governor whose greed knows no limits; a little girl whose kite finds her an unlikely friend. And Yun Dong-ju – the poet whose works hold such beauty they can break the hardest of hearts.

As the war moves towards its devastating close and bombs rain down upon the prison, Watanabe realises that he must find a way to protect Yun Dong-ju, no matter what it takes. This decision will lead the young guard back to the investigation – where he will discover a devastating truth…

At once a captivating mystery and an epic lament for lost freedom and humanity in the darkest of times, The Investigation – inspired by a true story – is a sweeping, gripping tale perfect for fans of The Shadow of the Wind.”

Packed weight 570gms.  IN STOCK FOR IMMEDIATE DESPATCH

The Investigation Sig