Book Shelves with Lots of books

You are viewing


Book cover ofBest British SF TPB
  • Author: Donna SCOTT (Editor)
  • Publisher: NewCon Press
  • Published: 2019
  • Description: Softback, New
  • Dust Jacket Condition: No dustjacket
  • Edition: First (Trade Paperback)
  • ISBN-13: 9781912950362
  • Ref: 13288
  • View Terms of Sale & Postage Information

Comments & Further Information

A first UK trade paperback edition with a stated first edition and a full 1 to 10 number sequence indicating a first printing.  Unread.

SYNOPSIS:  “A volume of twenty-six stories from disparate places that represent some of the best SF published anywhere in 2018; dreamlike glimpses of pristine worlds that will destroy us before we destroy them; stories of work-based friendships, mistrust and isolation; of alienation and othering; stories of slavery given an acceptable face through beautiful voice and the ever-present need to keep fighting injustice.; stories of bodily choice being made a crime; stories of rebellions we thought we’d already had but need to have again.  We have another end to childhood.  And we have the murder of story itself, involving an AI…

Full contents:  *Introduction by Donna Scott;  Providence – Alastair Reynolds; *Talking to Ghosts at the Edge of the World – Lavie Tidhar; *The Miracle Lambs of Minane – Finbarr O’Reilly; *Territory Blank – Aliya Whiteley; *Throw Caution – Tim Major; *Golgotha – Dave Hutchinson; *Salvation – Dave Bradley; *Waterbirds – G.V. Anderson; *Buddy System –  Mike Morgan; *Do No Harm – Anna Ibbotson; *A Change of Heart – Hannah Tougher; *Birnam Platoon – Natalia Theodoridou; *Good – Sunyi Dean; *Hard Times in Nuovo Genova – Chris Barnham; *The Escape Hatch – Matthew de Abaitua; *P.Q. – James Warner; *The Purpose of the Dodo is to be Extinct – Malcolm Devlinl; *Cat and Mouse – David Tallerman; *Before They Left – Colin Greenland; *Harry’s Shiver – Esme Carpenter; *The Whisperer – J.K. Fulton; *Death of the Grapevine – Teika Marija Smits; *Rainsticks – Matt Thompson; *The Veilonaut’s Dream – Henry Szabranski; *Doomed Youth – Fiona Moore; *F Sharp 4 – Tim Pieraccini . ”