Book Shelves with Lots of books

You are viewing

BEST OF BRITISH SCIENCE FICTION 2019 (Signed Numbered Limited)

Book cover ofBest of British SF 2019 SNL
  • Author: Donna SCOTT (Editor)
  • Publisher: NewCon Press
  • Published: 2020
  • Description: Hardback, As New
  • Dust Jacket Condition: As New
  • Edition: First Signed Numbered Limited
  • ISBN-13: 9781912950683
  • Ref: 14779
  • View Terms of Sale & Postage Information

Comments & Further Information

A first UK signed numbered limited edition hardback (75 copies only) with a full 1 to 10 number sequence indicating a first printing and a stated First Edition July 2020.  Unread.

Book #5 of 75.  SIGNED by Donna Scott (editor) on the limitation page.

SYNOPSIS:  “Twenty-two stories, selected by editor Donna Scott from disparate places, that represent some of the best SF published anywhere in 2019: stories of heroism, stories of loss, stories of wonder…

In this volume you will encounter tales in which creatures are cut off from their loved ones; someone is trapped with an abuser; a bird sings; weeds grow where we hope for a garden; we consider what our alternative selves might be doing; we can’t sleep; we wish we could keep things just the way they were; we drink too much…  and we look to rockets blasting off into the sky and think that there lies the future; that’s hope.

CONTENTS:   *2019: An Introduction –  Donna Scott;  *The Anxiety Gene – Rhiannon Grist;  *The Land of Grunts and Squeaks –  Chris Beckett;  *For Your Own Good – Ian Whates;  *Neom – Lavie Tidhar;  *Once You Start – Mike Morgan;  *For the Wicked, Only Weeds Will Grow – G. V. Anderson;  *Fat Man in the Bardo – Ken MacLeod;  *Cyberstar – Val Nolan;  *The Little People – Una McCormack;  *The Loimaa Protocol – Robert Bagnall;  *The Adaptation Point – Kate Macdonald;  *The Final Ascent – Ian Creasey;  *A Lady of Ganymede, a Sparrow of Io – Dafydd McKimm;  *Snapshots – Leo X. Robertson;  *Witch of the Weave – Henry Szabranski;  *Parasite Art – David Tallerman;  *Galena – Liam Hogan;  *Ab Initio – Susan Boulton;  *Ghosts – Emma Levin;  *Concerning the Deprivation of Sleep – Tim Major;  *Every Little Star – Fiona Moore;  *The Minus-Four Sequence – Andrew Wallace.”